'Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy' compared to 'Wrack'

Essay by slappy_chopsA+, August 2004

download word file, 7 pages 5.0

Downloaded 40 times

Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Writer: Douglas Adams

Date: First published in 1980 with Pan Books

Place: London


'The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy' is the first novel in a series of books based on the radio series of the same name, also written by Douglas Adams. It is followed by 'The Restaurant At The End Of The Universe', 'So Long, And Thanks For All The Fish' and 'Mostly Harmless'. The radio series has also been adapted to film and tape-versions.

The text is a comedy, written to entertain a wide-ranging audience. The series follows the exploits of a diverse group of characters travelling through a universe with a kaleidoscope view that is fabricated with defining characters.

The key characters in the story include Arthur Dent, an Englishmen plucked from the Earth seconds before its destruction and who resists the uncanny ways of his peers; Ford Prefect, a researcher for 'The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy' who visited Earth with the intent of writing a short extract for the guide and was stranded there for ten years; Zaphod Beeblebrox, a key character who epitomises a personal discovery, he is the untamed cousin of Ford Prefect and the ex-President of the Galactica; Tricia "Trillian" Macmillan, the only other being from Earth to have survived along with Arthur Dent, she has a degree in mathematics and astrophysics and is therefore important to the survival of the others in their attempt to control improbability factors.

One of the guiding principles of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy is that of absurdity, of things happening randomly without cause or meaning. This does not mean that the whole book is a series of events that occur in random order. The story starts off with the Earth being destroyed by the Vogons,